2006 NFL Hall of Fame Inductees

August 5 saw the induction of John Madden into the Pro Football Hall of Fame. The inductees were also inducted into the Hall of Fame were Troy Aikman, Reggie White and Rayfield Wright. Madden’s induction was last for a modern-era player. Other players inducted into the Hall of Fame include Mike McCarthy, Larry Fitzgerald, and Jerry Rice.

The 2006 NFL Hall of Fame inductees are: linebacker Harry Carson, quarterback John Madden, defensive tackle Reggie White and head coach John Madden. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is held annually in Canton, Ohio, and the game is played August 5-6, 2006.

Of the 16 players inducted into the Hall of Fame, only two played in the American Association, including Ken Strong. The other Hall of Fame inductees spent part of their career playing in the All-America Football Conference during the late 1940s. Six players spent part of their careers in the short-lived United States Football League. Inductions into the Hall of Fame are announced each May.

Apart from the five Hall of Fame inductees, there were a few non-players who were also inducted. Three of these individuals were former All-Pros. Jerome Bettis was the other inductee, who played eight seasons for the Chicago Bears. The Hall of Fame induction ceremony is held at the Canton Sports Museum in Ohio. The ceremony is free, so you’ll be able to attend for free without paying a penny.

Bettis was the Walter Payton Man Of The Year Award winner in 2001. His Hall of Fame nomination remains pending, as he has not yet been officially retired by Steelers. Bettis has been hailed as an outstanding player by Hall of Fame cornerback Mel Blount. The Steelers have not retired Bettis’ number, but the Hall of Famer was given a special citation.

White was ordained as a minister when he was 17 years old. He was nicknamed “The Minister of Defense” in his senior year at Tennessee. White spent two seasons in the United States Football League after his career. He later signed with the Philadelphia Eagles during the 1985 season and registered 13 sacks. He was named NFL Defensive Rookie of the Year. It’s easy to see why he’s inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Madden’s 2006 Hall of Fame Induction was well-deserved. He was a successful NFL coach and broadcaster and was the namesake of a billion-dollar video game franchise. Although his induction into the Hall of Fame was surprising, he was still well deserving of the honor. The 2006 Pro Football Hall of Fame class included other greats from Philadelphia Eagles such as Reggie White, a legendary defensive end, and John Madden, a former NFL star.

Moon, a quarterback for the Houston Oilers, broke the team record in 1984 with 3,338 yards. He continued to flourish when the team adopted the run-and-shoot offense. He was a league star due to his strong arm and exceptional running skills. In 1990, he led the league in passing yards with 4,689 yards and threw 33 touchdowns. He was named All-Pro again in 1992, leading the league in passing yards with 4,691 yards.

2006 NFL Hall of Fame Inductees
Scroll to top